Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.


Where Can I Play Chess?

Well organised over-the-board ECF-rated tournaments, many of which are suitable for juniors, can be found on these sites:

Here are some of the most popular sites for Learning & Playing Online:

First Wednesday Chess Club For All Ages (Potters Bar)

An informal gathering of adult and accompanied junior chess players on the first Wednesday of each month. Players of all levels and experience are welcome.

Venue: The Old Manor, Wyllyotts Place, Darkes Lane, Potters Bar EN6 2JD Time: 6.00 – 9.00 pm

For further information, please, contact Robin at Robin.yu.london@gmail.com

EPSCA Inter-Association Team Championships 2024

The Regional Qualifiers and Finals will take place as follows. Click on highlighted link to view results:


EJCOA National Youth Championships

The 2024 competition has begun.

Individual Junior players can participate in one or more Zonal competitions to qualify to the Final to be held in Nottingham from Friday 5th to Sunday 7th July 2024.

Competition rules can be found on the EJCOA website: https://ejcoa.co.uk/national-youth-championships

Dates and venues of the Zonal  competitions are given at: https://ejcoa.co.uk/national-youth-championships/zonals

London Junior Chess Championship (LJCC) Finals 2023

Results are available through the following links

Annual General Meeting 2023

Time & Date: 2.00pm, Sunday 15th October 2023

Place: Harvester Garston, St Albans Road, Garston, Watford, Hertfordshire, WD25 0LL

Parking: The Car Park has two entrances: one on St Albans Road on the carriageway heading towards St Albans and the second on Horseshoe Lane (the right turn at the traffic lights when travelling from St Albans).

Avoid Car Park Charges by entering your car registration on the terminal in the entrance to bar & restaurant.

We have reserved a corner table in the bar from 2.00pm.

Please, advise the chairman at chairman@hsca-chess.com so we have an idea of how many people to expect.

Summer Holiday – Morning Chess Camp – July & August 2023

The Checkmate Club, a popular provider of School Chess Clubs based in Hertfordshire is running are series of Chess Camps over the Summer Holidays

The morning sessions, for children aged 5 to 11 years old, run between 10.00am and noon at the following locations:-

  • Tuesday: Crabtree Junior School, Harpenden
  • Wednesday: Fleetville Junior School, St Albans
  • Thursday: Templewood Primary & Nursery School, Welwyn Garden City

For details and booking information, just follow the link: https://the-checkmate-club.classforkids.io/camps

Alternatively, contact us on mobile 07786 326 927 or email at chess@thecheckmateclub.co.uk

London Junior Chess Championships 2022

Qualifiers are now up and running. Please find a list of Qualifier Events here

The Finals take place at Northwick Park, Harrow, on the following dates:

  • 17th, 18th Dec 2022 – u10 & u14 Finals
  • 28th, 29th, 30th Dec 2022 – u12, u16 & u18/u21/Open Finals
  • 29th, 30th Dec 2022 – u8 Final

For full details vist LJCC Website: https://www.ljcc.co.uk